August 17, 2006
-
A reader just sent this to me – looks like someone has been copying our blogs.
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery… but it’s still not nice!
A reader just sent this to me – looks like someone has been copying our blogs.
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery… but it’s still not nice!
Comments (67)
haha…is it me or does the pix look very familiar? but yea its flattering but definately not nice
what a weirdo
can’t you make them disappear? = )
koreancooking will always be #1! the one & only ORIGINAL yO~
that is really annoying… that’s one of the hardest things about putting yourself on the internet. especially creative items because people steal it and you’re like, hello, that’s MINE.
ooh, that would so irritate me.. ru going to do anything about that?
Oh my god. That would SO piss me off if somebody started ripping off thousandthdish. What a loser. I don’t understand people who steal creative content and pass it off as their own.
Using and reposting the recipe is one thing… outright cut-and-pasting the entire entries and pictures… damn.
that is messed up. who would stoop so low to blatantly plagiarize?
wow. that’s LAME.
OMG…THOSE RECIPES ARE SO MUCH EASIER TO FOLLOW.
Thanks for the link!!!! ha ha ha I’m just kidding. I’m a big fan of this site.
omg! i guess you’re gonna have to copyright them first from here on.
he/she should at least give credit to the original source…
that sucks!!
imitation is only flattery when they quote their sources….
this is what is usually referred to as plagiarism…..
you should comment on his/her site and ask her to quote her/his sources…. it’s proper etiquette.
that’s weird. it’s so blatant. you would think they would at least change the stories or something.
that’s just retarded
i see alot of the same! how rude!
wtf?? you should seriously comment on his/her site about it. i would be soooo pissed.
i only realized because i saw my pictures in there! and no credit at all to anyone for ripping off recipes!!!!
this is illegal. ew.
Booo!
yo, can you please explain to me how you find these really random photos? I’m seriously bewildered.
do you sit there and wonder “hmmm…i wonder if there are any photos online of monkeys holding jujubahs in…oh let’s say…CHINA?!”
what da!? hahaha
oh it’s so cute i sent it to my sisters.
how do you take someone’s writings and photos and not even let them know if it’s ok with them?!
it’s like stealing your journal and taking credit for all you’ve written.
you’re right, that’s not nice!
wow, that is so stupid to use your stories and pass it off as their own.
that’s naps. if i ever use anything from someone’s blog. i always tell them or credit them.
at least we know where the original is
that is really messed up!!
but no comments for that guy..hahha..
i havent seen a recipe post in awhile
Wow, that person basically just lifted everything off of your site!
that guy sux
i just left a comment on that person’s blog. maybe the shame of having been found out will make the person stop.
GO GET EM!
aww they should have asked you if they could copy it…but I guess it’s just recipe sharing, no harm done right? >_<
imitated but never duplicated. cheap knock offs ala bolex. but, go get them!
well if you feel any better, that last entry they wrote is copying japanese people.
what pan chan is that in the banner closest to me? that bottom yellow and green thing.
you’re food looks way better so no worries!!
that sucks.
WTF IS THIS SHIT ?!?!? MUTHA FUCKER DIDNT EVEN BOTHER CHANGING THE WORDS AROUND. I SEE MY FUCKING COUNTER IN THEM PICS.
Hey let’s all go fuck with him.
that’s stealing!
im with 1000th. find this punkass…. and keep feeding him and feeding him
i agree…boo to that blog..poor form
unfortunately crap like that happens way too often. u should copyright ur stuff. sad. here’s some info about it.
http://www.copyscape.com/
Hey!!! it’s like word for word!!! Picture for picture! Who is this person? blatant plagerism should not go unpunished!!!
whack.
LAAAAAAAAAAAAAME
kick thwy butt lol
that is so lame! can’t that guy be original? come on….
that’s so messed up. not nice at all.
That just sucks.
what a jackhole
Finally a Korean person teehee:]
yeah.. whats up with that? that page is EXACTLY the same, the pictures and everything.
also, that box on the left that has references to all ur recipies.. howd u get that up there? is it for premium users? i want to list all my movie reviews.
^___^
wow, they got some nerve….
that really sux. and it’s like the same comments and everything about the recipes. ReTaRDeD!! u should do something about it.
messed up!
at least give you some credit… geesh!!!
I love korean food umm!!!!!!!!
ohh. that’s bad. they suck.
so not cool. I totally dig this site. I ask my mom for recipes and I get the most vaguest recipes…
mom: add a little of… juh guh..
me: juh guh??
mom: yeah you know… juh guh…
….. what’s juh guh?… now i know…
isn’t tat sort of a form of plagiarism?…but newyz i was wondering how exactly should i cook sushi/kimbap rice without using a ricecooker?
Judging from the fact that 2 of their three outgoing links are dead, and the other one points to a page mostly in Indonesian with a ton of ad content, it’s probable that this page was created by bots as part of an advertising scheme of some kind. Especially given that the whole thing was thrown up there in one day. (Worse than simple plagiarism, I know.) My guesses for why they did it:
1) the blog creator wanted to put Google/Yahoo/MSN ads on the page, and collect the revenue from the clicks on the ads. Grabbing your recipes (and probably many others’ pages) was a convenient way to make it look like the whole thing wasn’t actually robo-generated. Since there aren’t any ads there now, though, it’s possible Google/Yahoo/MSN shut them down or denied their application to display advertising.
2) the entire point of stealing all your recipes was to point people to those three sites to the right, including the Indonesian one. The owners of those websites would then profit from clicks to the ads on their own sites.
what a shame
that mtkr got nerveeeee..