Month: March 2007

  • I haven’t logged into this site in over a month  - sorry guys you know the story – been super duper ridiculous busy.  Those of you who messaged me, I don’t check my messages here, so if you want to contact me, message me on my other xanga site – justbee.  Thanks!


    ~~~


    How To Cook Rice


    Miss_Snow_Pea asked me to write an entry about rice, and I just happened to be making some!


    Say hello to my pressure rice cooker from Cuckoo.  The downside of a pressure cooker is that it makes a lot of noise as it releases steam.  But I don’t really mind it at all because the upside is it makes delicious rice!


    rice-cooker


    It has different settings for different types of rice – white, brown, porridge, etc.  It also has a timer which I have yet to use, but my mom uses all the time.


    ricecooker2


    The three types of rice I cook regularly are: black wild, brown, and plain white.  I add a very small handful of black rice to the brown or white rice, and that’s what makes that purple rice.  My favorite is plain white rice, then white with a little bit of black wild rice, and my least favorite is brown rice.  Sometimes I’ll mix 50/50 white and brown, sometimes white, brown, and black, and sometimes all brown since that’s healthiest.  My parents add beans for that super healthy rice you hated growing up, but I have yet to get to that level.   (although I do like the little green peas on top of white rice.)


    ricecooker4


    I made all brown rice last night because it’s the weekend.  Mr. Bee and I don’t eat together during the week, but we usually do on the weekends and he prefers brown rice because it’s healthier.  Brown rice cooks best after it’s been soaking in water for a couple of hours.  I washed this rice late last night, let it soak overnight, and cooked it this morning on my brown rice setting (brown takes longer than white).  I don’t soak white rice though, and just cook it right away.


    ricecooker3


    One of the most common questions people ask is how much water they should add.  With this rice cooker it’s easy – I just use the measuring cup that came with it to measure the rice, then add water up to the line indicating the corresponding number of cups inside the cooker.  With my old rice cooker though, I’d place my hand flat on the rice, and add water up to just above my middle finger knuckle no matter how much rice you’re cooking.  You can also point your index finger so that it’s touching the rice, and then add water up to the first line on your finger.  Sorry I didn’t take a picture to demonstrate before I pressed cook!


    Now I typically wash the rice 4-5 times before cooking it.  Washing rice removes excess starch and makes the rice cook fluffier and more even.


    When the rice is done cooking, fluff your rice immediately using a rice spatula.  Serve and enjoy!


      


    What’s your favorite type of rice?

  • BREAKING NEWS!


    0702191632177581


    “Paul McIlhenny, the company’s chief executive, has entered into licensing deals to add Tabasco to Spam, steak sauce and mayonnaise and ramped up the business with the food service industry, which now counts for more than half of sales.”


    Read the full article here.


    Tabasco and spam together at last!  It’s a marriage made in heaven!


    And I love tabasco with A1 sauce for steak, and tabasco w/ mayo for dipping veggies and ojinguh.  Oh happy day!