March 31, 2007

  • I haven’t logged into this site in over a month  - sorry guys you know the story – been super duper ridiculous busy.  Those of you who messaged me, I don’t check my messages here, so if you want to contact me, message me on my other xanga site – justbee.  Thanks!


    ~~~


    How To Cook Rice


    Miss_Snow_Pea asked me to write an entry about rice, and I just happened to be making some!


    Say hello to my pressure rice cooker from Cuckoo.  The downside of a pressure cooker is that it makes a lot of noise as it releases steam.  But I don’t really mind it at all because the upside is it makes delicious rice!


    rice-cooker


    It has different settings for different types of rice – white, brown, porridge, etc.  It also has a timer which I have yet to use, but my mom uses all the time.


    ricecooker2


    The three types of rice I cook regularly are: black wild, brown, and plain white.  I add a very small handful of black rice to the brown or white rice, and that’s what makes that purple rice.  My favorite is plain white rice, then white with a little bit of black wild rice, and my least favorite is brown rice.  Sometimes I’ll mix 50/50 white and brown, sometimes white, brown, and black, and sometimes all brown since that’s healthiest.  My parents add beans for that super healthy rice you hated growing up, but I have yet to get to that level.   (although I do like the little green peas on top of white rice.)


    ricecooker4


    I made all brown rice last night because it’s the weekend.  Mr. Bee and I don’t eat together during the week, but we usually do on the weekends and he prefers brown rice because it’s healthier.  Brown rice cooks best after it’s been soaking in water for a couple of hours.  I washed this rice late last night, let it soak overnight, and cooked it this morning on my brown rice setting (brown takes longer than white).  I don’t soak white rice though, and just cook it right away.


    ricecooker3


    One of the most common questions people ask is how much water they should add.  With this rice cooker it’s easy – I just use the measuring cup that came with it to measure the rice, then add water up to the line indicating the corresponding number of cups inside the cooker.  With my old rice cooker though, I’d place my hand flat on the rice, and add water up to just above my middle finger knuckle no matter how much rice you’re cooking.  You can also point your index finger so that it’s touching the rice, and then add water up to the first line on your finger.  Sorry I didn’t take a picture to demonstrate before I pressed cook!


    Now I typically wash the rice 4-5 times before cooking it.  Washing rice removes excess starch and makes the rice cook fluffier and more even.


    When the rice is done cooking, fluff your rice immediately using a rice spatula.  Serve and enjoy!


      


    What’s your favorite type of rice?

Comments (36)

  • fried rice! hehehe

    really though, plain white rice will always be a favorite

  • great post! i used to measure the water old school styles (with hand submerged) before the pressure cooker took up residence in my kitchen. and i like the purple rice sans beans!

  • cooking rice right now! i love my fuzzy rice cooker, it’s my second zojirushi one. i prefer white and brown mixed usually, but it varies depending on what we’re eating on the side. jasmin and basmati come in for regular rotation too, but we usually do all brown rice. i think i’ve mentioned this before (or have i? old age is getting to me…) but “rice” is an awesome restaurant to have rice! all sorts of rice unite! i love thier purple rice, forget what it’s called…i think it’s from bhutan or something like that.

  • wow you have a heavy duty rice cooker.  my favorite is white rice. 

  • i just made purple rice 2 days ago for the frist time ever!  so proud of myself =P

  • most excellent post. i learned a lot! thanks!

  • fried rice.

    or plain white, fluffy moist rice. XD

  • I like to cut my white rice 50/50 with barley or oats. Gives the rice a bit more nutrition.

  • i should show this to my friend…he doesn’t know how to cook rice.

  • the key to good white (sticky) rice is soaking it.

  • i love the ‘healthy’ rice with the dark beans and barley in it. :)

  • Wow, I didn’t know there was such an Art to sticky rice! Thank you! I never had to measure the amount of water for the rice. I just knew. My MOH uses the end of her pinky finger. One of my favorite rice is Basmati…there’s a whole art to cooking it as well. It’s boiled not steamed. Speaking of which, I do need a new rice cooker.

  • I usually do 3 parts brown, 1 part white :)

  • Overwashing rice is not advised since they spray vitamins / minerals on the rice to make it healthier. If you wash rice until the water runs clear, you’ll be losing all those additives!

    Thoughts?

  • Yeh, my mother in law used to say that too( about the vitamins). There is a Japanese brand that makes rinse free rice. I think iys pretty new.

  • My mom taught me the knuckle trick too!!! We don’t soak brown rice when using a pressure cooker, only before a rice cooker.  I thought that was the benefit to using a pressure cooker? Your videos are so fun! I can’t eat purple rice because I have a bad memory – my SAT tutor once made me purple rice and I threw it up.  And I NEVER throw up.  Just purple rice and ranch dressing.  I looove brown rice, and I especially love the rice with all the beans in it. 

  • ooh, BCD Soon Dooboo by far has the best white rice! its so fluffy and at the perfect moist!

  • LOL you have the same Bab Sot as I do!

  • I LOVE sticky or glutinous but I eat brown rice cuz its good for you =T

  • i have that rice cooker! i love it~ and my favorite is purple rice…actually it ties for favorite with plain white.

  • thanks for the tip about soaking brown rice in water longer than plain white rice.
    i prefer mixing different types of rice just for health reasons. i also like it when beans and green peas are added too.

  • white rice. ;]

  • nothing beats plane white rice.

    my rice cooker is a pressure cooker too, but mine talks to me..

  • I like white rice :]

  • mine plays music

  • this might be a silly question, but do you put the rice in first and then add the water or add the water to the line and then put in the rice?

  • I have the very same rice cooker from the pic. I used to have a regular one but i swtched to this one. And i love it!

  • I usually wait for 10 minutes after the cooker says its done cooking before fluffing, but then again I have a cheap ass bap soht.

  • Oh I have the same rice cooker… it’s so nice! I like a brown rice/wild rice/sweet rice combo. :)

  • rice rice baby. my cuckoo pressure cooker is slightly better than yours. hehe. it talks!

  • Basmati is my favourite followed by Jasmine ric.  I sometimes buy Nishiki Rice for variety.  I want to play around more with black rice.  I only buy white rice if I’m at a normal supermarket.

    Well, made the mistake of using brown rice for dinner recently (thin slices of pork belly with a bit of kalbi marinade, vegetables, some sezchuan pepper oil and some Australia mountain pepper all mixed with brown rice.  Yummo.)   Well had some for breakfast and the rest for lunch.  Just before lunch I started getting cramps.  Then while I was eating lunch I remembered why I don’t eat brown rice, it gives me terrible indigestion.  That was a fun 24 hours.

  • half long grain white and half sweet rice mixed

  • if not using a rice cooker then another trick is using the same measuring cup your measured rice with to measure the water. generally white rice is 1:1 brown rice 1:2. you can give or take a bit depending on how you want the consistency to be. i prefer my brown rice  with 1.5-1.75 water and i don’t soak it before cooking.

  • before receiving our rice cooker as a gift, i was cooking rice on the stove top. it tasted quite good and never mushy, and it was much faster than the rice cooker. the only problem is that you need to watch the rice more often as it cooks. i currently like adding the mixed beans/grains to the mix. 

  • I love plain round white rice (the ones you use for sushi).  Thai Jasmine rice is okay too. My mom sometimes mix oat and brown rice with white rice too! I know it’s supposedly good for you, but I hate it!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *